Tell Me About It 2

LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions, and Life Stories

Tell Me About It 2 front cover

Tell Me About It 2

LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions, and Life Stories

We all have stories — sometimes poignant, sometimes entertaining, and usually quite interesting. As historians of LGBTQ life, St Sukie de la Croix and Owen Keehnen, have been recording and collecting the memories, personal experiences, and anecdotes of queer folks for decades. The Tell Me About It series is an extension of their ongoing work.The Tell Me About It series sheds light on the lives, the circumstances, and the reality of LGBTQ people through the sharing of personal anecdotes in response to a series of questions. The results are a prime example of the power and the connection that comes from sharing our stories. Like its predecessor, Tell Me About It 2 is full of moving, horrendous, hilarious, and thought-provoking answers by LGBTQ people from across the country and around the globe, capturing a variety of experience, yet often revealing more profound similarities. Tell Me About It 2 offers glimpses of what makes us different, who we are, what we share, and where we fit in.

Other works available from Rattling Good Yarns Press

Memoir of a Groucho Marxist

On September 16, 1951, Darryl Michael Vincent, a fairy boy-child, fell out of a badger hole in Midford Woods. He grew up in a prefabricated house with his mother, Doreen, his father, Stanley, and a red butterfly called Karl Marx. He was born six years after World War II ended and the City of Bath in the West Country of England was still pockmarked with bombsites, the people bruised by the death of loved ones... More ...

Tell Me About It

For centuries the voices of LGBTQ people have been silenced, unable to share their lives openly. The result has been widespread isolation, misunderstanding, and shame – often with dire consequences still felt today. Tell Me About It explores these lives and tells stories never fully shared.... More...

Tell Me About It 2 front cover
Tell Me About It 2

We all have stories — sometimes poignant, sometimes entertaining, and usually quite interesting. As historians of LGBTQ life, St Sukie de la Croix and Owen Keehnen, have been recording and collecting the memories, personal experiences, and anecdotes of queer folks for decades...
.... More..

St Sukie's Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures

St Sukie’s Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures is a book for adults who never lost that childlike sense of wonderment. The book sits firmly in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Alan Garner, Lord Dunsany, and other British authors who lived with the fairies, lemonade birds, and tequila bunnies. The book takes the reader on a journey through the imagination of St Sukie de la Croix, where nothing makes sense, and nothing ever will. More...

Out of the Underground

Out of the Underground explores homosexuality in the radical press. It covers the rise and fall of the Gay Liberation Front in several cities, including Milwaukee, Atlanta, Austin, Detroit, San Jose, as well as gay metropolises like New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Chicago. Prior to a regular and reliable gay press, the only positive images of homosexuals appeared in the underground rags. In the turbulent 1960s, young gay... More...

Paper Cuts Front Cover
Paper Cuts

Paper Cuts: My Life in Chicago’s Volatile LGBTQ Press is the story of Rick Karlin’s life writing for Chicago’s newspapers, balancing that with his family life outside of it. Joining the staff at GayLife in 1978 gave Karlin a front- row seat at some of the momentous events in post-Stonewall LGBTQ history. From the privileged vantage point of a newspaper office, he watched the rise and fall of disco, the AIDS crisis
.... More..

Authors