Tell Me About It

LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions, and Life Stories

Tell Me About It

LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions, and Life Stories

For centuries the voices of LGBTQ people have been silenced, unable to share their lives openly. The result has been widespread isolation, misunderstanding, and shame – often with dire consequences still felt today. Tell Me About It explores these lives and tells stories never fully shared.

In Tell Me About It, author/historians St Sukie de la Croix and Owen Keehnen asked a variety of individuals ten specific questions. Their frank, audacious, hilarious, and sometimes heartbreaking responses will resonate with readers from all walks of life. They offer a glimpse into the individual life experiences that have quietly brought LGBTQ people together into a community. Through the voices of others, Tell Me About It reveals who we are, what we share, and why we must never allow ourselves to be silenced again.

Tell Me About It in the Media and Press

Feast of Fun Podcast with the Authors

Feast of Fun
Feast of Fun
FOF #2794 – Halloween Procrastinator
by Marc Felion

Halloween is upon us and for some folks the most terrifying thing isn’t some ghoul, goblin or their prime minister in blackface, the thing that scares them the most is putting on a costume.

Today comedian Matt Brown joins us to look at the fear and anxiety over wearing costumes and other types of Halloween procrastinations.

Throughout history, the experiences of LGBT people have usually been erased or glossed over- Abraham Lincoln slept in the same bed with Joshua Speed but they were just “good friends” and Joan of Arc’s gender non binary nature was just a unique flair. But now the love that once dared not speak its name is crowing like a rooster.

In the new book, “Tell Me About It: LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions and Life Stories” historians Owen Keehnen and Sukie de la Croix ask everyday LGBTQ folks from all walks of life about their painful, touching and sometimes hilarious experiences coming into their own.

Listen as Owen and Sukie join us to take a look at the shared struggles of LGBT folks, from the book, The Well of Loneliness to why it was so important to go to gay bars.

Interview with Owen Keehnen and St Sukie de la Croix,=, authors of "Tell Me About It: LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions and Life Stories"

Other works available from Rattling Good Yarns Press

Memoir of a Groucho Marxist

On September 16, 1951, Darryl Michael Vincent, a fairy boy-child, fell out of a badger hole in Midford Woods. He grew up in a prefabricated house with his mother, Doreen, his father, Stanley, and a red butterfly called Karl Marx. He was born six years after World War II ended and the City of Bath in the West Country of England was still pockmarked with bombsites, the people bruised by the death of loved ones... More ...

Out of the Underground

Out of the Underground explores homosexuality in the radical press. It covers the rise and fall of the Gay Liberation Front in several cities, including Milwaukee, Atlanta, Austin, Detroit, San Jose, as well as gay metropolises like New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Chicago. Prior to a regular and reliable gay press, the only positive images of homosexuals appeared in the underground rags. In the turbulent 1960s, young gay... More...

St Sukie's Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures

St Sukie’s Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures is a book for adults who never lost that childlike sense of wonderment. The book sits firmly in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Alan Garner, Lord Dunsany, and other British authors who lived with the fairies, lemonade birds, and tequila bunnies. The book takes the reader on a journey through the imagination of St Sukie de la Croix, where nothing makes sense, and nothing ever will. More...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This