Shop: Our Books

Showing all 6 results

  • History

    Paper Cuts: My Life in Chicago’s Volatile LGBTQ Press. By Rick Karlin

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $17.97

    Paper Cuts: My Life in Chicago’s Volatile LGBTQ Press is the story of Rick Karlin’s life writing for Chicago’s newspapers, balancing that with his family life outside of it. Joining the staff at GayLife in 1978 gave Karlin a front- row seat at some of the momentous events in post-Stonewall LGBTQ history. From the privileged vantage point of a newspaper office, he watched the rise and fall of disco, the AIDS crisis, same sex marriage, bars opening and closing, and LGBTQ newspapers coming and going. Like gossip columnists, Hedda Hopper and Louella Parsons, Karlin knew the dirt going on behind the scenes. … Scratch the veneer of what Karlin calls his “so-called celebrity” and you will find a man of conviction, morals, and a keen sense of community. In short, Rick Karlin is a jewel in the crown of Chicago’s LGBTQ press. In 1978 he dived into a polluted pool and, holding his nose, swam in it for decades. And Chicago is all the better for it.

    Add to cart
  • Memoirs

    Tell Me About It 2: LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions, and Life Stories – Edited by St Sukie de la Croix & Owen Keehnen

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $17.95

    We all have stories — sometimes poignant, sometimes entertaining, and usually quite interesting. As historians of LGBTQ life, St Sukie de la Croix and Owen Keehnen, have been recording and collecting the memories, personal experiences, and anecdotes of queer folks for decades. The Tell Me About It series is an extension of their ongoing work.The Tell Me About It series sheds light on the lives, the circumstances, and the reality of LGBTQ people through the sharing of personal anecdotes in response to a series of questions. The results are a prime example of the power and the connection that comes from sharing our stories. Like its predecessor, Tell Me About It 2 is full of moving, horrendous, hilarious, and thought-provoking answers by LGBTQ people from across the country and around the globe, capturing a variety of experience, yet often revealing more profound similarities. Tell Me About It 2 offers glimpses of what makes us different, who we are, what we share, and where we fit in.

    Add to cart
  • Fairy Tales

    St Sukie’s Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures – By St Sukie de la Croix, Illustrated by Roy Alton Wald

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $14.95

    Signed Edition! Signed by the Author and Artist!

    St Sukie’s Strange Garden of Woodland Creatures is a book for adults who never lost that childlike sense of wonderment. The book sits firmly in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Alan Garner, Lord Dunsany, and other British authors who lived with the fairies, lemonade birds, and tequila bunnies.

    Add to cart
  • Non-Fiction

    Tell Me About It: LGBTQ Secrets, Confessions and Life Stories – Edited by St Sukie de la Croix & Owen Keehnen

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $17.95

    For centuries the voices of LGBTQ people have been silenced, unable to share their lives openly. The result has been widespread isolation, misunderstanding, and shame – often with dire consequences still felt today. “Tell Me About It” explores these lives and tells stories never fully shared.

    Add to cart
  • History

    Out of the Underground: Homosexuality, The Radical Press, and the Rise and Fall of the Gay Liberation Front – By St Sukie de la Croix

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $19.95

    Signed Edition! Signed by the Author!

    Out of the Underground explores homosexuality in the radical press. It covers the rise and fall of the Gay Liberation Front in several cities, including Milwaukee, Atlanta, Austin, Detroit, San Jose, as well as gay metropolises like New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Chicago. Clearly, not all LGBTs were left-wing revolutionaries. Some were conservative and worked within established gay groups. The majority were deeply closeted. This book isn’t about them.

    Add to cart
  • Autobiographical Novel

    Memoir of a Groucho Marxist: A Very British Fairy Tale – By St Sukie de la Croix

    Rated 0 out of 5
    $14.95

    Signed Edition! Signed by the Author!

    On September 16, 1951, Darryl Michael Vincent, a fairy boy-child, fell out of a badger hole in Midford Woods. He grew up in a prefabricated house with his mother, Doreen, his father, Stanley, and a red butterfly called Karl Marx.  There was something different about him. Very, very, different. He was a Groucho Marxist.

    Add to cart